I will …

I pretend a lot. I pretend to know what I’m doing. I pretend to be strong and brave. I pretend to be happy and comfortable in certain situations. I even pretend to be listening as I get badgered for doing everything wrong and doing nothing right. 

I won’t pretend to know what I’m doing when it comes to raising my RAD daughter. 

What I will do is this : 

I will do the research 

I will go to therapy twice a week 

I will fight against human nature to remove myself from someone who seemingly hates me (talking about my daughter here not just some Joe Blow)

I will fight for her to heal 

I will give her the love she needs even when she does not want it

I will learn from my mistakes

I will not allow someone who has not walked in my shoes or done the research to make me feel less than

I will surround myself with people who support me and cheer me on, even if when I make mistakes

That’s what my daughter needs from me.

4 thoughts on “I will …

  1. Hi, just came here to reciprocate your visit to my blog and wow, what can I say? Well what I can say is that I’ve spent a lot of my recent career working with older kids who have similar issues to your daughter and what I’ve learnt is that no two kids with the same diagnosis are ever the same, and that if parents of the kids I work with followed the list you’ve just made, they’d be on the right track and just from reading a few of your posts I’m full of admiration for you.
    I really like that you’ve given yourself permission to make mistakes and that you recognise that looking after yourself is a key aspect of all of this, because it really is.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

